The first hello

Hello and welcome…

… to The Fitzroy’s first blog and also my first blog.

Exciting isn’t it.

As this is the first one I’ll try and keep this short and sweet.

I’m Andrew, the writer and director. I’m quite a geek, and while it’s very chic at the moment I like to think I keep it ‘old-school’ geek and uncool. I also like cats and drinking (not together).

There, that didn’t feel at all like an awkward introduction.

Okay… but what’s the film about?

Well, The Fitzroy is a dark surreal comedy, set in a post-apocalyptic 1950’s Margate. The Fitzroy is a leaky submarine beached in the bay. It has been converted into the last hotel and ‘safe’ refuge for a traditional summer holiday.

It also has murders, ice cream, dead donkeys and elements of noir and farce. It is a mixed bag, but hopefully something entertaining and different.

We plan on crowd funding the film… I’ll tell you more about why we’re doing that in the next blog.

What can you expect from this blog?

Mainly me rambling on, but it will also be a ‘warts and all’ insight into the trials and tribulations of making an independent genre feature film through crowd funding.

In less grand terms, it will be a kind of journal by me, with occasional guest blogs from some of the talented people who are involved in the film.

BUT…

We also want this to be a collaborative film and experience. So if you have any comments, recommendations or questions, please send them over.

So that’s it for now. I’ll be updating regularly so keep an eye out for more.

In the meantime check follow us on twitter. @the_fitzroy

or friend us on facebook.

Leave a Reply

